List by Glutenfreeandhealthy.com

Image by Piyachok Thawornmat

While there are countless things we celiacs can’t have, thankfully, there are also plenty of things we can have. It just takes some knowledge and planning, but once you get the hang of it, you won’t miss the old staples too much. The fringe benefit of having to be gluten free is eating healthier.

The following foods and ingredients are safe for celiacs.

Safe Foods and Ingredients

  • Acacia Gum
  • Agar
  • Algae
  • Algin
  • Alginate
  • Allcin
  • Almonds
  • Aluminum
  • Amaranth (Beware of cross Contamination)
  • Annatto (check with manufacturer)
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Arabic Gum
  • Arrowroot
  • Artichokes
  • Aspartame ***WARNING***
  • Ascorbic Acid
  • Baking Soda
  • Balsamic Vinegar (generally G.F.)
  • Beans
  • BHA
  • BHT
  • Beta Carotene
  • Betaine
  • Bicarbonate of Soda
  • Biotin
  • Buckwheat (beware of cross contamination)
  • Butter (check with manufacture is it contains additives or natural flavorings)
  • Butylated Hydroxyanisole
  • Butyl Compounds
  • Calcium Carbonate
  • Calcium Chloride
  • Calcium Phosphate
  • Calcium Silicate
  • Calcium Stearate
  • Camphor
  • Canola Oil (is gluten free but some celiac experience a laxative effect)
  • Caprylic Acid
  • Carboxymethylcellulose
  • Carnauba Wax
  • Carob Bean
  • Carob Flour
  • Carob Bean Gum
  • Carrageenan
  • Casein
  • Cassava
  • Castor Oil
  • Cellulose
  • Cellulose Gum
  • Cetyl Alcohol
  • Chlorella
  • Chymosin
  • Corn Oil
  • Corn Flour
  • Corn Meal
  • Corn
  • Cornstarch
  • Chickpeas
  • Chickpea Flour
  • Cheese (check with manufacturer, avoid preshredded cheese.)
  • Cream of Tatar
  • Calcium
  • Chloride
  • Calcium Phosphate
  • Carob Bean Gum
  • Carrageen
  • Citric Acid (in U.S. it is gluten free, but outside U.S. it can be made from wheat or corn)
  • Corn
  • Corn Sweetener
  • Corn Syrup Solids
  • Cortisone
  • Cotton Seed Oil
  • Cysteine, L
  • Demineralized Whey
  • Desamidocollagen
  • Dextrimaltose
  • Dextrose
  • Dioctyl Sodium
  • Eggs
  • Elastin
  • Ester Gum
  • Fish (FRESH, or unbreaded. Gortons grilled fish IS NOT G.F.)
  • Flax Seeds
  • Folic Acid – Flocin
  • Formaldehyde
  • Fructose
  • Fructose
  • Fruit (if dried check with manufacturer)
  • Fumaric Acid
  • Garbanzo Beam Flour
  • Gelatin
  • Gelatine
  • Glutamine (amino acid)
  • Glutamic Acid
  • Glycerides
  • Glyceryl Nono-Oleate
  • Glycerol Monooleate
  • Glycol
  • Glycolic Acid
  • Gram Flour (also know as Chick Pea Flour)
  • Grits (If instant or flavored check with manufacturer)
  • Guar Gum
  • Hemp
  • Herbs
  • Honey
  • Hydrogen Peroxide
  • Hydrolyzed Soy Protein
  • Invert Sugar
  • Iodine (some individuals with D.H. have reactions to Iodine)
  • Keratin
  • Lactic Acid
  • Lactose
  • Lanolin
  • Lard
  • Lecithin
  • Lentils
  • Lipase
  • Locust Bean Gum
  • Lecithin (could contain soy, avoid is sensitive to soy)
  • Locust Bean Gum
  • Magnesium Carbonate
  • Magnesium Hydroxide
  • Maize
  • Malic Acid
  • Maltodextrin (check with manufacturer)
  • Malititol
  • Manioc
  • Masa Harina or Masa made from Corn
  • Meat (fresh or frozen, with no breading or preseasoned)
  • Milk (check with manufacturer if flavored, or buttermilk. Horizon Dairy is G.F.)
  • Millet (Beware of cross contamination)
  • Milo (Check with manufacturer)
  • Malic Acid
  • Mung Bean
  • Microcrystalline
  • Mineral Oil
  • Mineral Salts
  • Monosodium Glutamate; MSG ( if made in U.S. it is G.F.)
  • Monopotassuim Phosphate
  • Musk
  • M Vitamins & Minerals
  • Nuts (If flavored, check with manufacturer)
  • Niacin
  • Niacinamide
  • Oats (beware of cross contamination. Quaker cannot guarantee G.F. Status)
  • Olestra  *WARNING*
  • Oleyl Alcohol
  • Oleyl Oil
  • Olive Oil
  • Paraffin
  • Peas
  • Peanut Oil
  • Pepsin
  • Peru Balsam
  • Petrolatum
  • Phenylalanine
  • Polenta (If not home-made check with manufacturer)
  • Polyethylene Glycol
  • Polyglycerol
  • Polysorbates
  • Potatoes
  • Potato Flour
  • Potato Starch
  • Potato Vodka
  • Potassium Citrate
  • Potassium Iodide
  • Pristane
  • Propolis
  • Propylene Glycol
  • Propylgallate
  • Psyllium
  • Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
  • Pyrophosphate
  • Quinoa
  • Rape Seed (Canola oil)
  • Rennet
  • Reticulin
  • Rosin
  • Royal Jelly
  • Rice
  • Rice Flour
  • Rice Vinegar (Check with manufacturer)
  • Romano Bean
  • Sago Palm
  • Sago Flour
  • Saifun (bean threads)
  • Safflower Oil
  • Seaweed (often used in Sushi)
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Sphingolipids
  • Spices (If they are pure they are generally G.F. McCormick’s Spices are G.F.)
  • Soba ( check that these noodles are pure buckwheat before consuming)
  • Soda (also called Baking Soda)
  • Sodium
  • Sodium Ascorbate
  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Sodium Citrate
  • Sodium Erythrobate
  • Sodium Nitrate
  • Sodium Silaco Aluminate
  • Sodium Stannate
  • Sorbitol
  • Soy ( some celiac are also sensitive to soy, but soy is G.F.
  • Soy Oil (If not sensitive to soy)
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Sorghum
  • Sorghum Flour
  • Spirits (Certain types are G.F.
  • Starch (if made in U.S. it is G.F, in the U.K it can be from either corn or wheat)
  • Stearates
  • Stearamine
  • Stearic Acid
  • Sucrose
  • Sulfites
  • Sulfosuccinate
  • Sulfur Dioxide
  • Sunflower Oil
  • Sunflower Seeds
  • Sweet Chestnut Flour
  • Tallow
  • Tapioca
  • Tapioca Flour
  • Tartaric Acid
  • TBHQ or Tributylhydroquinone
  • Tea
  • Tea Tree Oil
  • Teff (Beware of cross contamination)
  • Tequila (Made without dyes & additives. Find Tequila made from the Agave plant)
  • Thiamine Hydrochloride
  • Tofu (read label, generally made from Soy)
  • Tolu Balsam
  • Tragacanth
  • Tragacanth Gum
  • Tragacanth Gum
  • Tri-Calcium Phosphate
  • Turmeric
  • Tyrosine
  • Urad beans
  • Vanillin
  • Vitamin A (Palmitate)
  • Vegetables (fresh, canned, & frozen. Avoid sauces and seasoning packets)
  • Whey
  • Wine (most are generally gluten free, avoid wine coolers)
  • White Wine
  • White Wine Vinegar
  • Wild Rice
  • Xanthan Gum
  • Yam Flour
  • Yogurt (check with manufacturer, Yoplait is G.F.)